3 responses

  1. Seanb_us
    March 5, 2009

    “Player A is standing near the goal in an offside position. Player B dribbles up field and passes to the offside teammate, but the ball deflects off a defender before reaching the offside player. The offside player scores and the goal stands. A player cannot be offside if they receive the ball from an opponent.”

    But, player A is offside if they receive a deflected ball. The key question is, when their teammate played the ball forward, where was player A? Answer: in an offside position. It doesn’t matter that it hits a defender inbetween, because offside is judged from the moment the pass is made.

    The confusion is this: a player cannot be offside if the ball is played to them by someone on the other team. So, if Player B passes the ball, then a defender gets the ball and controls it, and then the defender passes to Player A, Player A is not offside because they are receiving a pass from the other team–a back pass at that, not even a forward pass.

    Cheers,

    Sean

  2. Soccer Dad
    March 5, 2009

    Yeah that needs to be clarified better. Deflections = offside. Actual play on the ball from defending team = no offsides

  3. Ed Hawkins – ZenMaster
    April 27, 2009

    Hey There Soccer Dad!! How are you man?? Here is one thing tht gets to me about the offside rule (and sometimes the official’s interpretation). Let me know what you think!! When a player who is in an offside position BUT not in the play does not get called for offside, and THEN he winds up getting on the end of a cross from the player who was rightly onside when the first through pass was made. It would seem to me that the player who was offside gained an advantage when he was an “Uninvolved” attacker which put him in position to score. Is that really fair??

Leave a Reply

 

 

 

 

Back to top
mobile desktop